KeyToData-Logo

Kubotek announces the new KeyCreator version 2021

Agile and efficient CAD tools for manufacturing

On 28 October 2020, our partner Kubotek3D announced the new version of the 3D CAD software KeyCreator. The productivity increase of different functions, improvements of the model-based definition as well as update of the CAD translators round off the new update.

Model-based definition (MBD)

Surface colours to support the "digital thread

The KeyCreator CAD software was developed to make the reuse of CAD data more productive. In version 2021, many improvements have been made to the material system to better define the meaning of each surface colour and to apply or copy the colours to the corresponding surfaces as quickly as possible.

Kubotek KeyCreator 2021 Announcement

In complex tool designs, surface colour attributes for features of 3D models are often used as MBD shapes. This allows manufacturing information such as surface tolerances and hole types to be represented. These colours are later converted into cycle parameters in an NC program. If this process is automated, it follows the strategy known as preserving the "digital thread". This increasingly popular concept saves time and errors when reading a drawing or evaluating a file and repeatedly entering the details into the manufacturing software.

"The colour tools available in the 2021 version of KeyCreator are truly groundbreaking," says Bill Bechard, designer at Superior Tool and Mold in Windsor, Ontario. "I've been using top-of-the-line CAD software that couldn't provide this kind of automated surface colour processing. Our CNC cutting automation is based on surface colour. These tools save us a lot of time on our projects. I'm excited to start using the software."

Due to the different meanings of colours between companies, KeyCreator 2021, stores material definitions in design and template files and allows material sets to be loaded and saved from configuration files. By updating the selection filter system, areas with specific materials can be accessed in each function. To extend support for design data from any source, the new version of KeyCreator can recognise the unique surface colour of the imported model and create an automatically matched material definition. This feature speeds up the process of defining standard colour sets for future orders from specific branches.

STEP AP 242

Kubotek's proprietary readers for STEP files (ISO 10303) have been extended to AP 242 to support customers using a full, standardised MBD approach. STEP AP 242 defines critical manufacturing annotations, including geometric dimensioning and tolerancing (GD&T) and their relationship to the surfaces of the 3D model. These annotations, along with the nominal size and position of the accurate geometric model, provide an unambiguous part definition.

This form of MBD can increase process efficiency by eliminating the need to translate designs into detailed drawings and better support the automation of related operations such as NC machining and inspection.

In addition, a second STEP extension has been added to version 2021 to open and export compressed ASCII STEP files that use the ".stpZ" extension. Compressed STEP files are approximately 20% the size of uncompressed STEP files. The stpZ format has gained popularity since its original release in 2013, particularly in the aerospace and automotive industries.

Productivity improvements

KeyCreator 2021 also offers further time-saving improvements:

  • Auxiliary drawing views defined perpendicular to a line/edge
  • Significant speed improvement when reopening the detail style editor
  • Axis indicators selectable for vector direction or position
  • Generate 2D cutting wheel geometry from partial reference geometry.

Updated CAD translators

Interoperability with other CAD software has been extended to include two more relevant CAD file formats:

  • Autodesk Inventor 2021
  • PTC Creo 7.0.

 

Start a free trial

You can use KeyCreator here free of charge and without obligation for 15 days.

Related articles

Popular glossary articles

Our solutions

EMPB stamp

FAI-Software

Icon 3DViewStation B-149

Multi CAD-Viewer

Icon-K2D-B-148

3D CAD/ CAM

Icon-K2D-B-139

Licence management

Updates straight to your inbox

Meet us on social media

Share post:

Facebook
Twitter
XING
LinkedIn
Scroll to Top

Kubotek kündigt die neue KeyCreator-Version 2021 an

Agile und Effiziente CAD Tools für die Fertigung

Am 28. Oktober 2020 hat unser Partner Kubotek3D die neue Version der 3D CAD Software KeyCreator bekanntgegeben. Die Produktivitätssteigerung von unterschiedlichen Funktionen, Verbesserungen der modellbasierten Definition sowie Aktualisierung der CAD-Übersetzer runden das neue Update ab.

Modelbasierte Definition (MBD)

Oberflächenfarben zur Unterstützung des „digital Thread“

Die KeyCreator CAD-Software wurde entwickelt, um die Wiederverwendung von CAD-Daten produktiver zu gestalten. In der Version 2021 wurden viele Verbesserungen am Materialsystem vorgenommen, um die Bedeutung jeder Oberflächenfarbe besser zu definieren und die Farben schnellstmöglich auf die entsprechenden Oberflächen anzuwenden oder zu kopieren.

Kubotek-KeyCreator-2021-Bekanntgabe

Bei komplexen Werkzeugkonstruktionen werden Flächenfarbattribute für Merkmale von 3D-Modellen häufig als MBD-Form verwendet. Somit können Fertigungsinformationen wie Oberflächentoleranzen und Bohrungstypen dargestellt werden. Diese Farben werden später in einem NC-Programm in Zyklusparameter umgewandelt. Wird dieser Prozess automatisiert, folgt er der Strategie, die als Erhaltung des „digital Thread“ bezeichnet wird. Dieses immer beliebter werdende Konzept spart Zeit und Fehler beim Lesen einer Zeichnung oder bei der Auswertung einer Datei und bei der wiederholten Eingabe der Details in die Fertigungssoftware.

“Die Farbwerkzeuge, die in der Version 2021 von KeyCreator zur Verfügung stehen, sind echt bahnbrechend”, so Bill Bechard, Designer von Superior Tool and Mold in Windsor, Ontario. “Ich habe erstklassige CAD-Software verwendet, die diese Art der automatisierten Oberflächenfarbverarbeitung nicht bieten konnte. Unsere CNC-Schneideautomatisierung basiert auf Oberflächenfarben. Durch diese Werkzeuge können wir viel Zeit bei unseren Projekten einsparen. Ich bin gespannt darauf, die Software einzusetzen.“

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Bedeutungen von Farben zwischen Unternehmen speichert KeyCreator 2021, Materialdefinitionen in Design- und Vorlagendateien und ermöglicht das Laden und Speichern von Materialsätzen aus Konfigurationsdateien. Durch die Aktualisierung des Auswahlfiltersystems kann in jeder Funktion auf Bereiche mit bestimmten Materialien zugegriffen werden. Um die Unterstützung für Konstruktionsdaten aus beliebigen Quellen zu erweitern, kann die neue Version von KeyCreator, die eindeutige Oberflächenfarbe des importierten Modells erkennen und eine automatisch angepasste Materialdefinition erstellen. Diese Funktion beschleunigt das Definieren von Standardfarbsätzen für zukünftige Aufträge aus bestimmten Filialen.

STEP AP 242

Kuboteks proprietäre Lesegeräte für STEP-Dateien (ISO 10303) wurden auf AP 242 erweitert, um Kunden, die einen vollständigen, standardisierten MBD-Ansatz verwenden, zu unterstützen. STEP AP 242 definiert kritische Anmerkungen zur Fertigung, einschließlich der geometrischen Dimensionierung und Tolerierung (GD&T) und deren Beziehung zu den Flächen des 3D-Modells. Diese Anmerkungen sowie die Nenngröße und Position des präzisen geometrischen Modells liefern eine eindeutige Bauteildefinition.

Diese Form der MBD kann die Prozesseffizienz erhöhen, da Konstruktionen nicht mehr in detaillierte Zeichnungen übersetzt werden müssen und die Automatisierung anknüpfender Vorgänge wie die NC-Bearbeitung und die Prüfung besser unterstützt wird.

Zudem wurde eine zweite STEP-Erweiterung der Version 2021 hinzugefügt, um komprimierte ASCII-STEP-Dateien, die die Erweiterung “.stpZ” verwenden, zu öffnen und zu exportieren. Komprimierte STEP-Dateien haben etwa 20% der Größe von unkomprimierten STEP-Dateien. Das stpZ-Format hat seit seiner ursprünglichen Veröffentlichung im Jahr 2013 an Popularität gewonnen, insbesondere in der Luft- und Raumfahrt und in der Automobilindustrie.

Verbesserungen der Produktivität

KeyCreator 2021 bietet darüber hinaus weitere zeitsparende Verbesserungen:

  • Senkrecht zu einer Linie/Kante definierte Hilfszeichnungsansichten
  • Signifikante Geschwindigkeitsverbesserung beim erneuten Öffnen des Detail-Style-Editors
  • Achsenindikatoren wählbar für Vektorrichtung oder -position
  • 2D-Schnittscheibengeometrie aus Teil-Referenzgeometrie erzeugen.

Aktualisierte CAD-Übersetzer

Die Interoperabilität mit anderen CAD-Software wurde um zwei weitere relevante CAD-Dateiformaten erweitert:

  • Autodesk Inventor 2021
  • PTC Creo 7,0.

 

Kostenfreie Testversion

Sie können KeyCreator hier kostenfrei und unverbindlich 15 Tage testen.

Beitrag teilen:

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on xing
XING
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Scroll to Top