KeyToData-Logo

AS9102 Create initial sample inspection report: Guidance

Guideline for the AS9102 initial sample inspection (EMPB): The demand for high-quality and defect-free "just-in-time" goods is constantly growing, so numerous industries are forced to prove their production capability. To achieve this, companies rely on advanced production machinery from manufacturing companies.

Furthermore, sophisticated testing techniques such as the Initial sample inspection (EMPB) another way to prove the company's products and processes. While first article inspection can be an expensive and labour-intensive process, it is often the only way to successfully complete high-risk projects. This article on AS9102 is a hands-on experience report from one of our InspectionXpert-customers. We look forward to sharing the experience with you.

Check your new component

The first step is rounded off with a well thought-out plan. Familiarise yourself with the drawing, tolerances, specifications and any other information in the title block, as well as any special notes or other instructions found on sheet 1 of your drawing. Many of the new drawings contain critical dimensions (CTQs), which often have very small tolerances and require special inspection techniques and equipment to verify. This information can save tracing later when performing the initial sample inspection and preparing the initial sample inspection report. Drawing notes are usually on the first page of the drawing and often contain relevant information that applies to the entire project, such as test procedures, painting requirements and repetitive information.AS9102-Part-Check

A crucial point for a successful initial sample inspection report is the documentation of the entire work process. Manufacturing and inspection activities should be traceable to the customer requirements in the drawing, specifications and purchase order. An example of retrieving all information is the assignment of an internal job number. The recording of customer information and diligence throughout the process is important as these points can affect one's reputation as a manufacturing company.

For example, if the customer sends a new revision to your company and the changes are not properly communicated by your company, you could put the wrong part into the old revision. This, however, would result in a rejected part because it is not possible to transfer the part to the new drawing. This is an important point when creating a first article inspection report: only if all processes are controlled, they are stable.

Video: AS9102 Create test report

The video presentation shows how AS9102 initial sample inspection reports are created automatically with the EMPB software InspectionXpert.

Vimeo

By loading the video, you accept Vimeo's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Planning your AS9102 EMPB

A Test schedule The Inspection and Test Plan (ITP) is an efficient way to get your EMPB planning onto one page. It also gives you an overview of the sequence of all upcoming tasks from the beginning to the end of the project. In addition, an audit schedule can be used to list when the audits will take place, who will perform them, what resources will be used and how often. The following information is included in an audit schedule:

  • Drawing number
  • Revision
  • Order number
  • Specification number
  • FAI report number (job number)
  • Notes on drawing
  • Special instructions
  • CTQ dimensions.

Test schedule-AS9102-EMPB

Example of a test sequence plan

You can download the template for an inspection schedule (German and English) in Excel format free of charge:
❯ Download.

Selection of the test tools

Accurate inspection of the part requires precision measuring tools:

  • The tools must be calibrated so that the measurement result can be reliably traced back to a known good reference standard
  • The type of tool must be listed in your EMPB
  • The serial number of the tool must be listed in your report.

To achieve the most accurate measurement possible, the appropriate measuring device must be selected. For round parts, the outside micrometer is the most suitable. Therefore, if the tolerances are small and a vernier caliper is used, it may happen that the vernier caliper indicates the feature outside the tolerance range, although this is not the case. The reason for this is that the caliper is not that accurate. But it can also happen that the outside micrometer has difficulty measuring certain areas or cannot measure them at all. Knowing the measuring equipment and how to use it is an important skill that is learned over time through experience and practice.

Preparing the EMPB

The next step is to prepare the EMPB and perform a 100% dimensional inspection of the part. During this phase, a full test report is prepared that covers all manufactured features (critical and non-critical) and determines whether the product is OK.

We use InspectionXpert to create our initial sample inspection report and enter measurement data for our EMPB. This gives a clear picture of whether the part is OK or whether the manufacturing process needs to be adjusted.

Finally, the comprehensive inspection shows whether the manufacturing processes used to produce the part are stable. This helps to identify and correct any inconsistencies in the manufacturing equipment or processes. It is critical that we capture all dimensions, especially the critical dimensions, and ensure that the correct tolerance is applied. In order for the person responsible for the measurement to recognise which are critical and which are non-critical dimensions, the critical dimensions should have a different stamp style.

Inspect part

Once stamping is complete and all features are set up correctly in the Table Manager, we can start the inspection process by using InspectionXpert's QuickMeasure feature. QuickMeasure is great because it allows you to do all the inspection activities in one place.

AS9102-Measurement Results-QuickMeasure-InspectionXpert

This screenshot of InspectionXpert shows the measurement results using QuickMeasure in the lower right corner (green) and the highlighting on the drawing corresponding to the "passed" or "failed" state (green for "passed" and red for "failed").

On the one hand, this reduces clutter and complexity, and on the other hand, it is faster than exporting the inspection report to Excel and printing out the stamp drawing. With one click on the respective stamp, you can enter your measured values. InspectionXpert applies the standard tolerances you set so that measurements that are within specification are shown in green and measurements that are out of tolerance are shown in red.

This is an invaluable tool when reviewing documents internally or before exporting and shipping to a customer, as colour coding greatly reduces the time and effort required to determine if the part has passed initial sample inspection or if your manufacturing processes need to be adjusted. In the Start tab, you can also export your results to Excel.

Once the verification process is complete, the data must be reviewed and analysed. Any non-conforming dimensions must be reported to manufacturing and corrected. There should also be a discussion about the root causes that led to problems and what the corrective action plan is to prevent these deviations from occurring again in the future.

First article inspection is a highly effective inspection method that can be used in high risk and high cost situations. It becomes more effective the more it is practised. It can also help protect the customer's assets and enhance the reputation of the manufacturing operation. I would strongly recommend trying it out on your next big manufacturing project.

Further information:

  • Free InspectionXpert access: You can use the EMPB software InspectionXpert for 14 days free of charge. Register here.
  • EMPB webinars: We also offer free and practical EMPB webinars on InspectionXpert. Here you will find the upcoming dates.

Related articles

Popular glossary articles

Our solutions

EMPB stamp

FAI-Software

Icon 3DViewStation B-149

Multi CAD-Viewer

Icon-K2D-B-148

3D CAD/ CAM

Icon-K2D-B-139

Licence management

Updates straight to your inbox

Meet us on social media

Share post:

Facebook
Twitter
XING
LinkedIn
Scroll to Top

AS9102 Erstmusterprüfbericht erstellen: Anleitung

Leitfaden für die AS9102 Erstmusterprüfung: Bei diesem Beitrag zu AS9102 handelt es sich um einen Erfahrungsbericht eines unserer InspectionXpert-Kunden. Wir freuen uns, die Erfahrung mit Ihnen zu teilen zu können.

Die Nachfrage nach hochwertiger und fehlerfreier „just-in Time“ Ware ist stetig am Wachsen, daher sind zahlreiche Branchen gezwungen, ihre Produktionsfähigkeit zu beweisen. Um dies erreichen zu können, sind Unternehmen auf fortschrittliche Produktionsmaschinen von Fertigungsbetrieben angewiesen. Ferner bieten hochentwickelte Prüftechniken wie die Erstmusterprüfung (EMPB) einen weiteren Weg, Produkte und Prozesse des Unternehmens unter Beweis zu stellen. Während eine Erstmusterprüfung ein teurer und arbeitsintensiver Prozess sein kann, ist es doch oft der einzige Weg, risikoreiche Projekte erfolgreich abzuschließen.

Überprüfen Sie Ihr neues Bauteil

Den ersten Schritt rundet ein durchdachter Plan ab. Machen Sie sich vertraut mit der Zeichnung, den Toleranzen, den Spezifikationen und allen anderen Informationen im Schriftfeld sowie mit den besonderen Hinweisen oder sonstigen Anweisungen, die auf Blatt 1 Ihrer Zeichnung zu finden sind. Viele der neuen Zeichnungen enthalten kritische Maße (CTQs), die oft sehr geringe Toleranzen aufweisen und für deren Überprüfung spezielle Prüftechniken und -mittel erforderlich sind. Diese Informationen können eine spätere Rückverfolgung bei der Durchführung der Erstmusterprüfung und der Erstellung des Erstmusterprüfberichts ersparen. Zeichnungsvermerke befinden sich in der Regel auf der ersten Seite der Zeichnung und enthalten oft relevante Informationen, die für das gesamte Projekt gelten, wie z.B. Testverfahren, Lackieranforderungen und sich wiederholende Informationen.AS9102-Teil-Ueberprüfen

Ein entscheidender Punkt für einen erfolgreichen Erstmusterprüfbericht ist die Dokumentation des gesamten Arbeitsprozesses. Fertigungs- und Prüftätigkeiten sollten bis zu den Kundenanforderungen in der Zeichnung, den Spezifikationen und der Bestellung rückverfolgbar sein. Ein Beispiel für das Abrufen sämtlicher Informationen stellt die Vergabe einer internen Stellennummer dar. Die Aufzeichnungen der Kundeninformationen und die Sorgfalt während dem gesamten Prozess ist wichtig, da sich diese Punkte auf den eigenen Ruf als Produktionsbetrieb auswirken können.

Wenn der Kunde zum Beispiel eine neue Revision an Ihr Unternehmen sendet und die Änderungen nicht ordnungsgemäß durch Ihr Unternehmen kommuniziert werden, könnten Sie das falsche Teil in die alte Revision einbauen. Das allerdings würde zu einem Ausschussteil führen, da die Übertragung des Teils in die neue Zeichnung nicht möglich ist. Dies ist ein wichtiger Punkt bei der Erstellung eines Erstmusterprüfberichts: Nur wenn alle Prozesse gesteuert werden, sind sie stabil.

Planung Ihres Erstmusterprüfberichts

Ein Prüfablaufplan (engl.: Inspection and Test Plan, kurz: ITP) ist ein effizienter Weg, um Ihre EMPB-Planung auf einer Seite unterzubringen. Zudem haben Sie so eine Übersicht über den Ablauf aller anstehenden Aufgaben vom Beginn bis zum Ende des Projekts. Außerdem kann ein Prüfablaufplan verwendet werden, um aufzulisten, wann die Prüfungen stattfinden, wer sie durchführt, welche Mittel genutzt werden und in welcher Häufigkeit. Folgende Informationen sind in einem Prüfablaufplan enthalten:

  • Zeichnungsnummer
  • Revision
  • Bestellnummer
  • Spezifikationsnummer
  • Nummer des FAI-Berichts (Job-Nummer)
  • Anmerkungen zum Zeichnen
  • Besondere Anweisungen
  • CTQ-Abmessungen.

Pruefablaufplan-AS9102-EMPB

Download: Beispiel eines Prüfablaufplans

Sie können die Vorlage für einen Prüfablaufplan (Deutsch und Englisch) im Excel-Format kostenfrei herunterladen:
❯ Download.

Auswahl der Prüfwerkzeuge

Die genaue Prüfung des Teils erfordert Präzisionsmesswerkzeuge:

  • Die Werkzeuge müssen so kalibriert werden, dass das Messergebnis zuverlässig auf ein bekannt gutes Referenzstandard zurückgeführt werden kann
  • Die Art des Werkzeugs muss in Ihrem EMPB aufgeführt sein
  • Die Seriennummer des Werkzeugs muss in Ihrem Bericht aufgeführt sein.

Um eine möglichst genaue Messung zu erzielen, muss das passende Messmittel gewählt werden. Bei runden Teilen ist die Bügelmessschraube am besten geeignet. Deshalb kann es bei kleinen Toleranzen und der Nutzung eines Messschiebers vorkommen, dass der Messschieber, das Merkmal außerhalb des Toleranzbereiches anzeigt, obwohl dies nicht der Fall ist. Der Grund hierfür ist, dass der Messschieber nicht so genau ist. Doch kann es auch mal vorkommen, dass die Bügelmessschraube bestimmte Bereiche schwer oder gar nicht messen kann. Die Messmittel und deren Einsatz zu kennen ist eine wichtige Fähigkeit, die im Laufe der Zeit durch Erfahrung und Praxis erlernt wird.

Vorbereiten des EMPB

Der nächste Schritt ist die Vorbereitung des EMPB und die Durchführung einer 100%igen Maßkontrolle des Teils. Während dieser Phase wird ein vollständiger Prüfbericht erstellt, der alle hergestellten Merkmale (kritische und nicht-kritische) erfasst und bestimmt, ob das Produkt in Ordnung ist.

Wir verwenden InspectionXpert, um unser Erstmusterprüfbericht zu erstellen und Messdaten für unser EMPB einzugeben. Dadurch wird ein deutliches Bild vermittelt, ob das Teil in Ordnung ist oder ob der Herstellungsprozess angepasst werden muss.

Die umfassende Prüfung zeigt schließlich, ob die zur Herstellung des Teils verwendeten Herstellungsprozesse stabil sind. Dies hilft, eventuelle Unstimmigkeiten in der Fertigungsausrüstung oder den Fertigungsprozessen zu erkennen und zu korrigieren. Es ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, dass wir alle Dimensionen, insbesondere die kritischen Maße erfassen und sicherstellen, dass die richtige Toleranz angewandt wird. Damit die für die Messung verantwortliche erkennen kann, welches kritische und welches nicht-kritische Maße sind, sollten die kritischen Maße einen anderen Stempelstil haben.

Teil inspizieren

Sobald das Stempeln abgeschlossen ist und alle Merkmale im Tabellenmanager richtig eingerichtet sind, können wir mit dem Prüfprozess beginnen, indem wir die QuickMeasure-Funktion von InspectionXpert verwenden. QuickMeasure ist großartig, weil es Ihnen ermöglicht, alle Prüfungsaktivitäten an einem Ort durchzuführen.

AS9102-Messergebnisse-QuickMeasure-InspectionXpert

Dieser Screenshot von InspectionXpert zeigt die Messergebnisse unter Verwendung von QuickMeasure in der unteren rechten Ecke (grün) und die Hervorhebung auf der Zeichnung, die dem Zustand “bestanden” oder “nicht bestanden” entspricht (grün für “bestanden” und rot für “nicht bestanden”).

Dadurch wird auf der einen Seite die Unordnung und Komplexität reduziert und auf der anderen Seite ist es schneller als das Exportieren des Inspektionsberichts in Excel und das Ausdrucken der Stempelzeichnung. Mit einem Klick auf den jeweiligen Stempel, können Sie Ihre Messwerte eingeben. InspectionXpert wendet die von Ihnen festgelegten Standardtoleranzen an, so dass Maße, die innerhalb der Spezifikation liegen, grün und Maße, die außerhalb der Toleranz liegen, rot angezeigt werden.

Dies ist ein unschätzbares Hilfsmittel bei der internen Überprüfung von Dokumenten oder vor dem Export und Versand an einen Kunden, da die Farbkodierung den Zeit- und Arbeitsaufwand zur Feststellung, ob das Teil die Erstmusterprüfung bestanden hat oder ob Ihre Fertigungsprozesse angepasst werden müssen, erheblich reduziert. Im Reiter Start können Sie zudem Ihre Ergebnisse nach Excel exportieren.

Sobald der Prüfungsprozess abgeschlossen ist, müssen die Daten überprüft und analysiert werden. Alle nicht konformen Dimensionen müssen der Fertigung gemeldet und korrigiert werden. Es sollte auch eine Diskussion über die Grundursachen stattfinden, die zu Problemen geführt haben und wie der korrigierende Maßnahmenplan aussieht, um zu verhindern, dass diese Abweichungen in Zukunft wieder auftreten.

Die Erstmusterprüfung ist eine äußerst effektive Prüfungsmethode, die in Situationen mit hohem Risiko und hohen Kosten eingesetzt werden kann. Sie wird umso wirksamer, je mehr sie praktiziert wird. Zudem kann sie dazu beitragen, die Vermögenswerte des Kunden zu schützen und den Ruf des Fertigungsbetriebs zu stärken. Ich würde dringend empfehlen, sie bei Ihrem nächsten großen Fertigungsprojekt auszuprobieren.

Weiterführende Informationen:

  • Kostenfreier InspectionXpert Zugang: Sie können die EMPB-Software InspectionXpert 14 Tage kostenfrei nutzen. Registrieren Sie sich hier.
  • EMPB-Webinare: Wir bieten auch kostenfreie und praxisorientierte EMPB-Webinare zu InspectionXpert an. Hier finden Sie die bevorstehenden Termine.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on xing
Share on linkedin
Scroll to Top