KeyToData-Logo

Innovations in the VDA Volume 2: 2020 (PPF) | 6th edition

VDA Volume 2: Assuring the quality of deliveries - Production process and product release (PPF)
VDA Volume 2 describes the procedures for production process and product release and is a core element in Germany for customer-specific requirements of car manufacturers and their suppliers. Across the entire supply chain, VDA Volume 2 has great relevance in terms of contract law.

The new VDA Volume 2 (2020 | 6th edition)

The German Association of the Automotive Industry (VDA) published the 6th edition of VDA Volume 2 on the PPF procedure in May 2020. The new edition aims to make the cooperation between organisation and customer in the PPF procedure as smooth as possible and has therefore optimised the PPF procedure and adapted the requirements. In doing so, information regarding the agreement on the scope, deadlines and content of the PPF procedure between supplier and customer in the automotive industry is disclosed. This is to ensure that all the customer's wishes and requirements have been realised before the start of series production.

Further information from our glossary on the complete PPF procedure according to VDA Volume 2 and PPAP (AIAG).

Graph: Product creation

VDA Volume 2 Innovations Flow Chart

What has changed?

No more presentation stages

The first major difference in the 6th edition is the dissolution of the template levels. In this way, the individual wishes of the customers, the diversity of the products and the numerous documents can be better addressed. This is illustrated in chapter 5 "Reconciliation to the PPF procedure". For this purpose, the supplier should use Appendix 2 "Reconciliation of the PPF procedure" and document project-specifically which sample parts and documents are to be presented, when and in which condition.

VDA Volume 2-2020-6th edition
Source: https://www.vda.de/de

Alignment of the PPF process with the PPAP process

Another important component is the modified release stages and the alignment of the PPF procedure (production process and product release) with the PPAP procedure (Production Part Approval Process) of the AIAG (Automotive Industry Action Group).

More chapter

Compared to its predecessor, the 6th edition of VDA Volume 2 has twelve chapters instead of ten. The former subchapter 6.5, which has become its own chapter 7 "Special processes", and chapter 10 with the new topic "Re-qualification" have contributed to this.

Chapter 1.2 "Aim of the PPF procedure".

The aim of the PPF procedure is to trace and fulfil the requirements for the production process and the product. In the new edition, the legal, regulatory and approval requirements, such as EU directives, type approval procedures and CE marking, are defined as a part of the requirements.

Annex 1 "Notes on the PPF Record Keeping"

ESD/EMC

In Annex 1 "Notes on PPF verification", changes have been made with regard to electricity. From point 3.11 onwards, the table shows that the ESD test is now subdivided into three different areas:

  • 3.11 "Resistance to Electrostatic Discharge (ESD)
  • 3.12 "Electrical Safety / High Voltage Safety
  • 3.13 "Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC)".

Integration of the software

The software was already included in the previous edition, but it has been broadened in the sixth edition. Thus, one can find the sub-items in Annex 1 "Notes on PPF evidence" under item "Evidence on the software":

  • 6.1 "SW Release for use"
  • 6.2 "Determining the SW product"
  • 6.3 "Reference to the quality requirements specified in the contract".
  • 6.4 "Documentation of the technical SW specifications".
  • 6.5 "Evidence of the implementation of the requirements from 6.3 and 6.4, in particular the special characteristics".
  • 6.6 "Documentation on FOSS
  • 6.7 "List of known errors
  • 6.8 "Documentation of the development tools
  • 6.9 "Documentation of the test tools
  • 6.10 "Documentation of version management".
  • 6.11 "Evidence of process evaluation".

What has remained the same?

Trigger matrix

As in the previous edition, Chapter 3 "Triggers of the PPF process" and the trigger matrix (Appendix 8) are still part of the VDA process. The trigger matrix describes which changes can be made to the product or production process and which have to be communicated to the customer.

Related articles

Popular glossary articles

Our solutions

EMPB stamp

FAI-Software

Icon 3DViewStation B-149

Multi CAD-Viewer

Icon-K2D-B-148

3D CAD/ CAM

Icon-K2D-B-139

Licence management

Updates straight to your inbox

Meet us on social media

Share post:

Facebook
Twitter
XING
LinkedIn
Scroll to Top

Neuerungen im VDA Band 2: 2020 (PPF) | 6. Auflage

Was ist neu im VDA Band 2: 2020 – Sicherung der Qualität von Lieferungen – Produktionsprozess- und Produktfreigabe (PPF)

Im VDA Band 2 werden die Verfahren zur Produktionsprozess- und Produktfreigabe beschrieben und ist in Deutschland ein Kernelement für kundenspezifische Anforderungen der Automobilhersteller und deren Zulieferer. Über die gesamte Lieferkette hinweg hat das VDA Band 2 eine große vertragsrechtliche Relevanz.

Der Verband der Automobilindustrie (VDA) hat im Mai 2020 die 6. Auflage des VDA Band 2 zum PPF-Verfahren veröffentlicht. Die neue Auflage strebt an, die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Organisation und Kunde im PPF Verfahren so reibungsfrei wie möglich zu gestalten und hat daher das PPF-Verfahren optimiert und die Anforderungen angepasst. Dabei werden Informationen bezüglich der Vereinbarung über den Umfang, Termine und den Inhalt des PPF Verfahrens zwischen Zulieferer und Kunde in der Automobilindustrie preisgegeben. So soll vor Beginn der Serienproduktion sichergestellt werden, dass alle Wünsche und Anforderungen des Kunden realisiert wurden.

Weitere Informationen aus unserem Glossar zu PPF (VDA) und PPAP (AIAG).

VDA-Band-2-2020-6. Auflage
Quelle: https://www.vda.de/de

Was hat sich geändert?

Keine Vorlagestufen mehr

Der erste wesentliche Unterschied der 6. Auflage besteht in der Auflösung der Vorlagestufen. Auf diese Weise kann besser auf die individuellen Wünsche der Kunden, der Diversität der Produkte und auf die zahlreichen Dokumente eingegangen werden. Dies wird in Kapitel 5 „Abstimmung zum PPF-Verfahren“ verdeutlicht. Hierzu soll der Zulieferer die Anlage 2 „Abstimmung zum PPF-Verfahren“ verwenden und projektspezifisch dokumentieren, welche Musterteile und Dokumente, wann und in welchem Zustand vorzuzeigen sind.

Angleichung des PPF-Verfahrens an das PPAP-Verfahren

Einen anderen wichtiger Bestandteil stellen die veränderten Freigabestufen und der Angleich des PPF-Verfahrens (Produktionsprozess und Produktfreigabe) an das PPAP-Verfahren (Production Part Approval Process) der AIAG (Automotive Industry Action Group) dar.

Mehr Kapitel

Im Vergleich zum Vorgänger hat die 6. Auflage des VDA Band 2, zwölf statt zehn Kapitel. Beigetragen dazu haben zum einen das ehemalige Unterkapitel 6.5, welches zum eigenen Kapitel 7 „Sonderabläufe“ wurde und Kapitel 10 mit dem neuen Thema „Requalifikation“.

Kapitel 1.2 „Ziel des PPF-Verfahrens“

Ziel des PPF-Verfahrens ist es, den Anforderungen an den Produktionsprozess und an das Produkt nachzugehen und diese zu erfüllen. In der neuen Auflage werden die gesetzlichen, behördlichen und zulassungsrelevanten Anforderungen, wie zum Beispiel EU-Richtlinien, Typengenehmigungsverfahren und CE-Kennzeichnung, als ein Teil der Anforderungen definiert.

Anlage 1 „Hinweise zur PPF-Nachweisführung“

ESD/EMV

In der Anlage 1 „Hinweise zur PPF-Nachweisführung“ wurden bezogen auf die Elektrizität Änderungen vorgenommen. Ab dem Punkt 3.11 kann man der Tabelle entnehmen, dass die ESD-Prüfung nun in drei verschiedene Bereiche untergliedert ist:

  • 3.11 „Beständigkeit gegenüber Electrostatic Discharge (ESD)“
  • 3.12 „Elektrische Sicherheit/ Hochvolt-Sicherheit“
  • 3.13 „Elektromagnetische Verträglichkeit (EMV)“.

Einbindung der Software

Bereits in der vorherigen Auflage war die Software aufgenommen worden, jedoch wurde es in der sechsten Auflage breiter gefächert. So kann man in der Anlage 1 „Hinweise zur PPF-Nachweisführung“ unter Punkt „Nachweise zur Software“ die Unterpunkte entnehmen:

  • 6.1 „SW-Einsatzfreigabe“
  • 6.2 „Festlegung des SW-Produktes“
  • 6.3 „Referenz zur vertraglich festgelegten Qualitätsanforderungen“
  • 6.4 „Dokumentation der technischen SW-Spezifikationen“
  • 6.5 „Nachweis über die Umsetzung der Anforderungen aus 6.3 und 6.4, insbesondere der besonderen Merkmale“
  • 6.6 „Dokumentation über FOSS“
  • 6.7 „Liste bekannter Fehler“
  • 6.8 „Dokumentation der Entwicklungswerkzeuge“
  • 6.9 „Dokumentation der Testwerkzeuge“
  • 6.10 „Dokumentation des Versionsmanagements“
  • 6.11 „Nachweis einer Prozessbewertung“.

Was ist gleichgeblieben?

Auslösematrix

Wie in der vorherigen Auflage ist Kapitel 3 „Auslöser des PPF Verfahrens‘“ und die Auslösematrix (Anlage 8) weiterhin Bestandteil des VDA Prozesses. Die Auslösematrix beschreibt, welche Änderungen am Produkt oder an dem Produktionsprozess vorgenommen werde können und welche mit dem Kunden zu kommunizieren sind.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on xing
Share on linkedin
Scroll to Top